Six projects from a field of twenty-six have been shortlisted by the International Area Committee’s 2013 awards jury for the Australian Institute of Architects’ Jørn Utzon Award for International Architecture. The winner will be announced at the National Architecture Awards on Thursday 7 November at the Sydney Opera House.

Situated outside the eight state and territory jurisdictions of Australia, these unique projects span the globe from Russia to New Zealand, and include an art gallery in Japan’s snow country, mixed-use developments and a Californian family home.

The award for International Architecture acknowledges the work of Institute members living abroad and members undertaking commissions overseas.

The finalists for the international category are:

Australia House
Andrew Burns Architect
Niigata, Japan

Silver House
Peter Stutchbury Architecture
Cherepovets, Russia

Martin No.38
Kerry Hill Architects

387 Tamaki Drive
Ian Moore Architects
Auckland, New Zealand

28th Street Apartments
Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Inc.
Los Angeles, United States

Sobieski House
Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Inc.
South Pasadena, United States

These finalists will now be considered by the 2013 National Architecture Awards Jury led by Immediate Past President Shelley Penn and comprising WOHA Founder and Director, Richard Hassell; South Australian Government Architect, Ben Hewett; Tribe Studio Director, Hannah Tribe and architectural editor, writer and critic, Justine Clark.

For images, descriptions and jury comments on the shortlisted projects visit

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment